Skip to content
Central Bedfordshire Counts — Central Bedfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Central Bedfordshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Central Bedfordshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Central Bedfordshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 220,504 in 1991 to 321,605 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Central Bedfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 225,607 people in 1996; 321,605 people in 2025. 42.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Central Bedfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991220,504
1992221,311
1993221,196
1994222,301
1995223,742
1996225,607
1997226,525
1998227,371
1999230,636
2000232,004
2001234,006
2002236,297
2003238,547
2004240,444
2005242,062
2006244,351
2007246,803
2008249,035
2009250,329
2010252,460
2011255,644
2012259,524
2013263,425
2014267,066
2015270,962
2016274,909
2017277,655
2018280,414
2019284,688
2020289,105
2021295,651
2022302,158
2023309,755
2024316,062
2025321,605
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Central Bedfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 48,961 people in 1996; 63,246 people in 2025. 29.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Central Bedfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199147,643
199248,072
199348,327
199448,769
199548,926
199648,961
199749,167
199848,993
199949,969
200050,114
200150,182
200250,215
200350,239
200450,218
200550,047
200649,974
200749,828
200849,725
200949,614
201049,615
201149,839
201250,586
201351,256
201451,833
201552,696
201653,691
201754,181
201854,880
201955,654
202056,594
202157,738
202259,326
202361,110
202462,480
202563,246
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Central Bedfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 147,427 people in 1996; 199,042 people in 2025. 35% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Central Bedfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991145,808
1992145,875
1993145,253
1994145,327
1995146,104
1996147,427
1997147,662
1998148,234
1999150,072
2000150,779
2001152,104
2002153,781
2003155,292
2004156,470
2005157,798
2006159,636
2007161,408
2008162,598
2009162,818
2010163,760
2011165,530
2012166,501
2013168,139
2014169,686
2015171,354
2016173,086
2017174,072
2018175,210
2019177,579
2020180,293
2021184,667
2022188,170
2023192,619
2024195,888
2025199,042
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Central Bedfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 29,219 people in 1996; 59,317 people in 2025. 103% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Central Bedfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199127,053
199227,364
199327,616
199428,205
199528,712
199629,219
199729,696
199830,144
199930,595
200031,111
200131,720
200232,301
200333,016
200433,756
200534,217
200634,741
200735,567
200836,712
200937,897
201039,085
201140,275
201242,437
201344,030
201445,547
201546,912
201648,132
201749,402
201850,324
201951,455
202052,218
202153,246
202254,662
202356,026
202457,694
202559,317
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 294,251 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Central Bedfordshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh10,3213.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7,0182.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups8,8853%
White265,54590.2%
Other ethnic group2,4820.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 254,381 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Central Bedfordshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White238,72293.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,7891.9%
Asian/Asian British6,4022.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3,6141.4%
Other ethnic group8540.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 233,661 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Central Bedfordshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White227,31697.3%
Mixed2,1340.9%
Asian/Asian British2,0440.9%
Black/Black British1,1350.5%
Chinese/Other1,0320.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Central Bedfordshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,903 per person in 1997; £26,560 per person in 2024. 123.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Central Bedfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,903
199811,912
199912,493
200013,092
200113,327
200213,871
200314,131
200414,482
200515,056
200615,504
200716,036
200816,496
200916,848
201017,308
201117,326
201217,873
201318,728
201419,055
201520,002
201620,476
201721,046
201821,811
201922,302
202022,112
202122,701
202223,831
202325,178
202426,560
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Central Bedfordshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 12.2% in 1997; 2.3% in 2024. 9.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Central Bedfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199712.2
199810
199910.4
200010
20017.7
20029.6
20038.4
20046.7
20057.1
20065.9
20074.5
20084.7
20095.2
20107.2
20116.3
20125.8
20136.9
20145.4
20155.1
20166.3
20176.8
20186.9
20195.8
20205.3
20213.9
20223.8
20233
20242.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

63.8%

21 March 2021 · Central Bedfordshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13%

21 March 2021 · Central Bedfordshire council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15%

21 March 2021 · Central Bedfordshire council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.8%

21 March 2021 · Central Bedfordshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£357,000

July 2026 · Central Bedfordshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,250

August 2026 · Central Bedfordshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.